Weddings in Ocean City

  • directions
marriage licenses in ocnj

To get married in New Jersey, you must have a marriage license issued in New Jersey. An out-of-state license cannot be used. Please visit the City of Ocean City's information here:

Policy for Obtaining a Marriage or Civil Union License in NJ

To hold a wedding on the beach, a Beach Wedding Permit Application form must be submitted which can be found by clicking here. 

What to Consider When Planning a New Jersey Wedding:

  • Residents of New Jersey who are getting married in Ocean City, NJ can obtain their marriage license from wherever they live. However, if you are a resident of another state or country, you must apply for your marriage license in Ocean City. There is a 72-hour waiting period before you can perform your marriage or civil union ceremony. Please plan for this when setting aside dates for your New Jersey wedding.
  • You can travel to Ocean City, NJ to obtain a marriage license.The marriage application is good for six months after the couple has come in, the license is then good for 30 days once it has been issued. 
  • You must make an appointment to apply for a marriage license in Ocean City. Because offices are only open Monday through Friday and closed on weekends and holidays, please make this appointment well enough in advance of your arrival in Ocean City.
  • You will need to have several documents on hand when you come for your marriage license appointment. These include: 
    • Proof of identity by presenting your driver’s license, passport or state/federal I.D.
    • Proof of residency by one applicant if a NJ resident
    • Social Security number*
    • A witness, 18 years of age or older
    • The $28 application fee

Your social security number is required by law for US citizens and will be kept confidential.

Any documents in a foreign language must be accompanied by a certified English translation.

Contact the City Clerk for details.

Weddings & Groups